Lutz Gregor

Since 1983 he established himself in the sphere of experimental documentaries and became later especially interested in the connection between film and dance. Several dance film productions have resulted from his own dance practice, Contact Improvisation. His films include: Kontakt Triptychon (1992) – winner of a cinematography award at the Grand Prix Vidéo Dance Paris in 1992, Königskinder (2001), a full length feature film, screened at the Max Ophüls Festival in Saarbrücken (2002) and awarded at the Festival International du Film Indépendant Brussels 2003 for his new cinematographic themes and language, Frankfurt Dance Cuts (2005), selected for ARTEs Festival Temps d’Images 2005 and shown at Villa Medici Rome. Collaborations in film projects, stage captations and live performances (electronic scenography) with Tanzfabrik Berlin, Tanz Companie Rubato („Angelus Novus“, 1991), Hush Hush Hush („2Pack“), choreographers Rui Horta („Olgas Solo“), Frederik Flamand („Silent Collisions“ 2003), Mark Tompkins („Plaque Tournante“ 1991, „Gravity“ 1996, „Extension“ 1999, „Song & Dance“ 2005), Juan Kruz Diaz de Garaio Esnaola („Königskinder“ 2001), Dieter Heitkamp („Kontakt Triptychon“ 1992, „Augenblicklicht“ 1995, „Y NOT“ 1996, Dom Project „Das Blaue Fleisch“ Frankfurt 2004), Prue Lang, Alan Barnes, Jone San Martin, Vanessa LeMat of Ballett Frankfurt („Frankfurt Dance Cuts“ 2004) and Ismael Ivo (2005/07). Recent works include the documentary series „People in the Wind“ (2007 arte) and the FilmDance Installation „Maps of Emotion“ (2007). As part of the Biennale di Venezia/Danza he created video installations for the project Choreographic Collisions, artistic direction by Ismael Ivo (2008). He teaches „Physical Cinema“ in workshops and at universities and art academies all over Europe, 2002/03 as guest professor for audiovisual design at the University of Applied Sciences, Dept. Media Design (IMG Mainz), currently at Palucca Dance School (Dresden). Lutz Gregor is an associated teacher in the D.A.N.C.E Programme under the artistic direction of Frédéric Flamand, Wayne McGregor, Angelin Preljocaj and William Forsythe.